top of page

Spring Talent Show


Last last Friday, April 14, the Chinese students held a Talent Show. There were several performances and I left the show amazed at how talented some of the students are. There were performances by Chinese, Kenyan, and Russian students including dancing, singing, and a magic show.

One performance in particular shocked me. Four girls wearing crop-top tank tops and leggings performed a dance that appeared to be a quite sexual. One of their dances was to the song “I’m Worth It.” This was surprising to me because I have always thought of Chinese girls as being very conservative; however, this performance was definitely not conservative. My friend, Zhuyan, told me that this is very normal for China especially because many girls are very interested in Korean hip-hop and fashion. Since then, I have also noticed some girls wearing very short skirts. The style very much resembles the Asian girls in anime shows. To me, it seems slightly unusual and inappropriate in some cases; however, it seems to be very normal in China.


bottom of page