top of page

Hot Pot, Hair Salon & Shopping

Wednesday | 10:40 AM

On Sunday, my friend ,Zhuyan (Karen), and I took a bus to Weihai. In Weihai, we ate at a hot pot restaurant, went to the hair salon, and did lots of shopping.

RIT Weihai? Aren't you in Weihai?

Many may be confused when I say Weihai because I am supposed to be at RIT Weihai. The school is actually in an area called Nanhai, which is about an hour and 15 minutes away from the city of Weihai.

Getting to Weihai

Zhuyan and I first walked from campus to the bus station. We took the bus to Weihai, which was 20 Yuan. Then we took a bus from the Weihai bus station to the mall, which was only 1 Yuan and about 10-15 minutes away. Because Weihai is a very big city, most people utilize the public bus system.

Hot Pot Restaurant

The hot pot restaurant was absolutely amazing. The service and the food was perfect! Zhuyan and I ate so much that we needed to walk around for a little before we started shopping. Hot Pot is a very unique experience. There are different kinds of broths that you put various things into for cooking. Each of the things only takes about 30 seconds to cook. We ordered beef, noodles, tofu, and many vegetables. The waiter was very excited to learn that I was from America. He gave us free fruit and free snacks. He also took a picture with us and then printed out two copies, one for each of us to have.

The Hair Salon

The hair salon was very interesting. The hair dressers were all men. In my opinion, the salon was very very nice. They even played some country songs, which I thought was kind of funny and cool. They also gave me a cup of tea! There were two prices for all customers. The lower price was for customers who wanted to get their hair cut/styled by regular workers. The higher price was for customers who wanted to get their hair cut/styled by one of the managers. Because it was relatively cheap, I chose to get my hair done by the manager. One man washed and dried my hair first, then the manager cut and styled my hair. Chinese men really know how to do hair!

Shopping

The shopping in China can be really cheap OR really expensive, just like any other place. The Chinese style is quite different from American style; however, there are many stores that have some American style clothing. Zhuyan and I enjoyed walked around the mall and trying different items on.

At the end, we met up with some other people from our school and rode the bus back to campus. Zhuyan and I both fell asleep on the bus. We were very very exhausted.


bottom of page